Manchester United star Alejandro Garnacho caught scrapping the Copenhagen penalty spot in stoppage time
Manchester United forward Alejandro Garnacho deliberately tampered with the penalty spot as Copenhagen’s Jordan Larsson missed the penalty. The match officials failed to detect the actions of the Argentina international as he covertly stomped and desecrated the area. The Red Devils defeated Copenhagen 1-0 in the Champions League Group A game to climb to the third position.
Garnacho replaced Antony during the 63rd minute of the game to exploit the open spaces around Copenhagen’s defence.
Copenhagen gave a surprisingly tough game to the Red Devils and almost got the lead in the fifth minute. A couple of errors from the United midfielders led to a 10-yard shot that hit the post.
Scott McTominay gave a penalty with a dangerously high boot in the last minute of the game. During the VAR review, the players surrounded the referee when Garnacho decided to tamper with the penalty area. United goalkeeper Andre Onana saved Larsson’s penalty to secure United’s victory.
Garnacho has appeared in 11 matches for the Red Devils in all competitions this season. The 19-year-old has only contributed one goal for United as most of his appearances came from the bench.
United manager Erik ten Hag tactically uses Garnacho as the late substitute. The Argentinian has immense pace and trickery to exploit tired opposition and spaces.
Ten Hag introduced Garnacho against Copenhagen, and the 19-year-old received an excellent pass from Fernandez during the game. However, a poor touch from the Argentinian helped Copenhagen’s goalkeeper Kamil Grabara make an easy save. The Argentina international could’ve secured the lead for the Red Devils during that moment but failed to capitalize.
More Manchester United News-
- Manchester United’s dream team with academy players
- Manchester United needs to resolve the situation surrounding Harry Maguire and Lisandro Martinez before commencing their January transfer plans
- Manchester United also interested to sign Sacha Boey despite links from other clubs
We think Garnacho was very lucky to survive any disciplinary action for his dissent which could’ve injured the penalty taker. ESPN FC posted the picture of the Argentinian’s action on their twitter/X account. Many fans praised the Argentinian international for his ‘win-at-all-costs’ attitude, while others criticized him for understanding the possible severity of his actions.
The 19-year-old did not just scrape the area but stomped it and it was indeed an unsportsmanlike act. Garnacho should work on his composure and finishing so he won’t have to resort to such actions.